Ending My Model United Nations Career

Dearest readers and my beloved MUNers,

two days ago, after a nearly 5-year-long Model United Nations career, I’ve decided to put a stop to it. While this may not fit an overarching theme of my blog, my blog is a lifestyle platform and considering this was my lifestyle for the most relevant part of my life thus far, I only find it appropriate to share my feelings, both of sadness and gratitude.

Embarking on this journey, I’ve had little to no idea about the world of debate, diplomacy and true international values that I soon discovered I’d already possessed. But it’s little about what I’ve learned (which is a lot-I can go as far as to say that MUN has taught me more than my entire education this far)…It’s more about who I’ve met. And to those of you I’ve met over the years, take this as a heartfelt love letter.

You’ve singlehandedly shaped me into the person I am today. And the person I strive to be. I’ve never met such crazy multitaskers as you guys. I know what it means to run from school to MUN training or MUN prep and back like a crazy person for months just because you’re preparing for those 3 conference days, all alongside upholding excellent grades and doing a million internships. I know most of you have thought yourself academic English in order to be able to do this, which proves the amount of passion and dedication needed to engage in this well-articulated role-play.  Additionally, your true set of international values, or shall I say supranational, has always left me in awe, singlehandedly making me into someone who has no sense of national identity, and I do not mean this in a negative way whatsoever.

While my time as an MUNer has elapsed, mostly due to going to Law School in the US this coming August, I will always continue to identify myself as one. The people I’ve met have always left me more motivated and inspired to work towards my goals, even after those most exhausting days. It is for that reason that I know I’ll hold this experience near and dear to my heart and to all of you who I’ve become friends with over MUN- thank you for making me into someone I am proud to be.

Since there is no ‘next time’, until a more informal occasion somewhere around the world!
Sincerely Yours,
Asja

P. S. Special thanks to my parents and my University for funding my travels so I can pretend to be a diplomat and become an even bigger narcissist 😉

 

 

Leave a Reply

